What is a mineralogical class ?

Mineralogical class : definition

A mineralogical class groups together minerals with strong chemical similarities. The mineral kingdom is divided into 9 mineralogical classes :

- Native elements
- Sulphides and sulphosalts
- Halides
- Oxides and hydroxides
- Carbonates, nitrates, borates, iodates
- Sulphates, chromates, molybdates, tungstates
- Phosphates, arsenates, vanadates
- Silicates
- Organic compounds

These classes are themselves divided into subclasses. Silicates are thus subdivided into six subclasses : neosilicates, sorosilicates, cyclosilicates, inosilicates, phyllosilicates and tectosilicates.